Cyclocross Nationals

Let me begin by saying that I’m honored to be the 2014 Singlespeed Cyclocross National Champion. The support from all the spectators was awesome! Friends, family, sponsors, and hecklers all made for an incredible racing experience in Boulder, Colorado.
ss1Typical Colorado weather blessed us with several inches of snow the weekend prior to the race. The temps warmed up just enough to make for some proper cyclocross conditions. Mud, mud and more mud!corner

Equipment was essential so I will describe my set up real quick like: Foundry Harrow Disc Cross Bike with Whiskey carbon handlebars. Industry Nine Torch Hubs laced up to carbon tubulars with a 17t cog on the free hub body. Thomson stem and seatpost. Fizik Aliante VS Carbon Saddle. Shimano CX70 Cranks with a 36t chainring and a Problem Solver PF30 eccentric bottom bracket to tension the chain. TRP HY/RD brakes. Clement PDX tubular tires at a fairly low pressure. I built this rig on my Feedback Sports Pro Elite work stand two weeks prior to the event. However, I have no plans to put gears back on this bike!ss

Luckily, I got a front row call up. I knew Brady was going to get the holeshot since he’s wicked fast and he was running a taller gear. I was spun out almost immediately, however I was able to make it to the singletrack 3rd wheel. Brady started to pull away halfway through the first lap and I knew I needed to make a move early if I wanted to get away. After we rolled through the pits, the gravel path opened up and this was a great place to pass. Brady sat up to recover and I jumped at the opportunity to take the lead, especially since the table top feature was just around the corner and I wanted to catch some air. I started to open up a little gap on Brady through the tight and twisty corners. I couldn’t believe how good I was feeling and the course was perfect for my riding style. It definitely catered more towards the mountain bikers because of how technical it was.jump

I managed to extend my lead through the remainder of the race. I was in my element, having fun, and trying to push the limits. I never let up because I knew there were 100+ gnarly singlespeeders chasing me down for the coveted stars and bars jersey. The crowds were awesome and gave me the energy boost I needed to finish strong – luckily the race was only 44 minutes long, compared to the usual 60+ minute elite races. win tim-allen-crowd-pleaser (1)

It felt surreal to become a National Champion. I’m still in disbelief and completely overwhelmed with all of the support from friends and family! I’m really excited to have won this race, but I’m way more excited for the upcoming birth of our baby boy! My cyclocross season is complete… not really sure if I want to toe the line with the big boys on Sunday in the Elite race. I think it might be time to hang up the cross bikes and end on a high note! Besides, I’m gonna be a Dad!men-ss-podiumlauren

My beautiful wife is due on February, 3rd and I am really looking forward to being a Dad!

See you on the mountain bike this spring!

Pro Velo Passion: http://provelopassion.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/tim-allen-the-likely-unlikely-2014-single-speed-cyclocross-national-champion/

Post race interview: http://dirtwire.tv/2014/01/tim-allen-singlepspeed-national-champ/

CX Magazine article: http://www.cxmagazine.com/2014-cyclocross-nationals-singlespeed-men-tim-allen-brady-kappius

303 Cycling: http://303cycling.com/2014-US-Cyclocross-National-Championships-Day-1-SingleSpeed

2 responses to “Cyclocross Nationals

  1. Congratulations, Tim!

  2. Awesome ride Tim. Glad to have you as an industry partner!

Leave a Reply

