This is the real deal! www.tim29.wordpress.com Thanks Paul!!

After a hectic weekend of moving, I was sore and exhausetd to say the least. I had been planning on hitting the first Mountain States Cup Race of the season the following day on Sunday, April 10th at Cheyenne Mountain State Park in Colorado Springs. This was the first big race on the Front Range and proved to have some serious competition. The day started off with a couple fresh eggs from my girls (I have 5 hens in my backyard!) a double shot, a bowl of frosted mini wheats and a banana-almond butter-honey sandwich. Then I had to swap some bike parts and get my race rig dialed in. Good thing we didn’t start until 2pm. I was stoked to roll down for this race with a cooler full of Epic beer (out of SLC) a Niner easy-up, catalogs and stickers, and my Feedback repair stand. I was prepared to have a great day on the bike and a fun time hanging out at the venue. The wind definitely put a damper on my venue set up, but it was nice knowing that I had it. Thanks to Aaron, our Niner Sales Guy from Fort Collins!

I had never ridden in the Springs and was looking forward to what it had to offer. I love riding new trails, especially ones that are technical and flowy, however, I had a feeling I was going to be in for a few surprises during the race, since I hadn’t pre-ridden the course. Sure enough, I stacked it up pretty good
on the first lap, but I didn’t get hurt. That always throws me off my game a bit, although I managed to pull it together and catch back on the lead group of Finsterwald (Subaru-Trek), Hoke (Tokyo Joe’s), Beisel (Yeti-Sram), and Kappius (Clif Bar); only to get dropped on the next acceleration, or so it seemed. For the remainder of the race, I felt like I was in no-man’s land, just riding along. After 3 laps, I finally started to get a feel for the course and get some sweet lines dialed in thru the rock gardens. I was just having fun out there. It was almost like the pain subsided and I found myself airing out the whoops with smooth transitions, railing the loose corners until my tires started to drift, pinning it up the climbs because it felt good (well, sorta) … I had to remind myself that I was racing.

4 laps, 1 hour and 53 minutes, 5th place.

It felt good to ride a strong race and only be a few minutes behind Mitch Hoke, the winner. Huge props to my U23 teammate, Skyler Trujillo, for finishing only a minute and change behind me in 6th place. I think this was his first big pro race. Great job dude! Keep an eye on this guy throughout the season; he is going to CRUSH it.

For a professional race report check out Mountain Flyer. There is going to be an article in print next issue, keep an eye out!

I’m going to polish off this Golden Ale from Epic Brewing, it’s a Brainless Belgian-Style ale… 8.8% – hands down, my new favorite beer!

you are what you drink

Ciao,

Tim

2 thoughts on “This is the real deal! www.tim29.wordpress.com Thanks Paul!!

  1. Great race Tim! I was thinking of heading down but it seemed a bit pricy plus I’d never ridden the course before. I’m not good at all on unfamiliar technical so if you ended up stacking it up it could have been a not so good day for me.

    I’m racing Sunday at Lake Pueblo, the Arkansas Point Challenge, you should check it out. It’s a fun course (sort of, if you don’t slice a tire wide open).

Leave a Reply

