Crankworx

our little house

Lauren and I spent most of the day working in the yard. With all the rain we’ve gotten this year, everything is growing like crazy, especially the weeds! We have been eating from the garden every day. It’s a ton of work to maintain, but the satisfaction of eating our own crops is well worth it. Not to mention, the health benefits.  Here’s a list of what we have growing currently. Thanks to my Mom, the master gardener, for hooking me up with lots of seeds and a green thumb!

  • Corn
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow squash
  • Pumpkin
  • Spaceship squash
  • Cucumber
  • Cantaloupe
  • Watermelon
  • Snap peas
  • Tapari beans
  • Kale
  • Swiss chard
  • Romaine
  • Spinach
  • Radish
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Tomatoes
  • Peppers
  • Sunflowers
  • Amaranth
  • Nasturtiums
  • Basil
  • Parsley
  • Cilantro
  • Dill
  • Mint
  • Chives
  • Thyme
  • Garlic
  • Green onions

The mountain bike season is winding down here in Colorado and it’s time to start focusing on cyclocross! I decided to race the Crankworx cross country because the trails are simply amazing and I figured it would be a great finale to my mountain bike season. I knew that toeing the line with JHK (Subaru-Trek) and the rest of Colorado’s top riders was going to hurt. I started with the attitude of, “I’m just here for the fun trails and my main event was later in the day”- the pond crossing. Once I got thru the first monster climb, I was feeling really good and riding in 4thplace. I couldn’t see third or fifth. This is when I started having fun; ripping thru the tight single track, plowing thru some creek crossings, and pushing myself to the limit on the fire road climbs.

http://www.mountainmoonphotography.com

Towards the bottom of the climb on the backside of the resort, I got caught. I was now in 5th and just barely hanging onto his wheel. I managed to stay with him until the last switchback where I was able to really dig deep and attack him just before the long single track descent. It was the first time that I was able to make a move that late in a race. On the descent I closed the gap to third, Mitch Hoke (Tokyo Joe’s). We were almost to the finish and I just couldn’t make the pass. Not because of the trail, just because I was exhausted. 4th place was a great result for me, considering I got 10th at this race last year. Now it was time to prepare for the main event!!!

We had 4+ hours before the pond crossing so we has some bratwursts and went out to Spring Creek to chill out. Lauren and I took the dogs for a ride along the creekside trail and let them swim in the frigid water. After a good ride, we snacked on some wild strawberries that were delicious!   

The second annual Intergalactic Pond Crossing Championships started at 5pm in the village at Winter Park. I have had this one on the calendar since Crankworx last year. It’s a wild event that combines all types of riders at every age. Last year I went to Crankworx for a cross country mountain bike race and saw the boards floating on the pond and decided to check it out. Turns out, pond crossing is quite lucrative. I went home with an extra $500 cash and made sure that I would be there next year. This year the course was re-designed and the crowds were huge. It was a bunch of 2”x6” boards connected together in a straight line, floating on foam. I’m not sure how long it was, but it took about 8 seconds to get across. It was $10 to register and you get to take two runs. I was excited and nervous for my first run. I was about 20th in line of about 60 competitors. By the time they called me up, no one had made it across yet. This meant that all the life jackets were soaked. It doesn’t feel very natural to ride a bike with a cold bulky life jacket, that’s for sure. I rolled in conservatively and coasted too long. I started to lose my balance towards the end and had to put a foot down. I still made it across without getting wet, but they disqualified that run because I put my foot down. Now the pressure was on. A few guys made it all the way, and were celebrating victory already. I went for a little spin around to loosen up the legs and focus on what I needed to do.

By the time they called me up for my final run, several people had ridden all the way across. This was a race, after all. There were timing cameras on each end of the floating bridge. I knew that the only way to win this competition was to pedal the entire way, FAST! This was risky, because the board was wet from everyone falling in and climbing all over it, and it was also easy to go off the board with too much speed. With no inhibitions, I just pinned it. It felt great to win this silly event again. It’s so much fun to watch and take part in.  I would like to see more cross country racers out there. I was the only pro xc guy competing, but there were several pro downhillers and slope style riders. I have to thank the promoters for putting together one of the best prize purses ever. $500 cash, some Dragon shades, Oakley goggles, Maxxis DH tire, a full face helmet, Rocky mounts bike racks and locking adapters, and two jerseys. Lauren and I had to make two trips back to the truck! All I need now is a DH bike…

cash money records

Here’s a link to a video of the event http://www.pinkbike.com/news/Crankworx-Colorado-2011-Intergalactic-Pond-Crossing.html

We headed straight to the Fraser Rodeo afterwards for a shitkickin’ good time! HAHA, this was the first rodeo that I can ever remember going to and it was awesome. We watched all the events and I have to say, the barrel racing and bull riding were my two favorites. I can’t imagine!  Quote of the night, Rodeo Clown says, “Howdy y’all, whatcha think of this new music? (blaring in the stands) It’s like a mixture ‘tween country and rap. CRAP!”

Mrs. Fluffy Pants grubbin in the compost

Thanks for reading, now go dust off your cross bike!

Tim

4 thoughts on “Crankworx

  1. Tim, I am your mum’s friend from Phoenix. Heard about the upcoming trip-got super jealous! She refused to pack me in a luggage and take me with her. Make sure she has enough fun to bring back to us!

Leave a Reply

