Alchemy 2017 – Summertime Livin’

I haven’t checked in here for over a year… it’s crazy how life takes ahold! What a wild ride it has been. Ups and downs, trials and tribulations. Still riding bikes, growing vegetables and having fun raising two amazing children!

Lets see…

We welcomed our baby girl, Sage Macy Allen, into this world on April, 13th 2017. I got a new job; Global Business Development at Weehoo Inc. My son is riding a pedal bike without training wheels! I had my worst crash on the mountain bike, ever. I won some races although racing has taken a bit of a backseat on this ride called life. I’ve been coaching GBX Junior cycling program. I’m building a new bike and it’s green! I married the love of my life 5 years ago and I recently completed my 31st revolution of the sun. I’m also heading into my 3rd season racing for Alchemy!

There are so many directions I could go with this “catch up” post, but I think I will keep it simple with a goal to update it more regularly. Since lots of folks have been asking about my new Alchemy Arktos that I’ve been posting about on insta, I figured I would share some of the awesome work that the whole crew at Alchemy have been cranking out! This is their new 6″ trail bike that has been getting rave reviews across the board. I have been fortunate enough to be riding a demo Arktos for the past several months and it has exceeded all of my expectations for a longer travel 27.5″ bike. It is harder to pedal uphill than the hard tails that I’m used to, but the reward on the descent has significantly outweighed the added weight on the way up… I find myself effortlessly floating through rock gardens that used to require scrubbing speed and picking slower lines to avoid obstacles. I also find myself having insane amounts of fun when I ride the Arktos. I cannot wait to get my personal Arktos built up.

2017-06-30 10.57.362017-06-29 14.52.512017-06-29 12.52.582017-06-28 15.23.04

I am over the top thrilled with how this custom paint job is turning out! Metallic green with gold pinstripes and roosters, finished off with black hot legs and glossy clear coat to boost! I can’t wait to hang my new Industry Nine Enduro 305 Torch wheels on this beauty and take it for a rip on some local single track.

Meanwhile, the family and garden are growing rapidly. Some days I feel like I can’t keep up but I have to stop myself and remember that life is not a race. I’ve been focusing on enjoying the small stuff like; walks to the park, rides to the pump track, reading bedtime stories, singing to baby Sage, watering the yard, and spending time with friends and family. This summer I’m taking one day at a time. I’m trying really hard to be present and live each moment to it’s fullest instead of seeking the next adventure all the time. It’s not easy… but there is something so satisfying about this newfound approach.

We have been blessed with a community of amazing friends, neighbors, and beauty. It takes a lot of work to maintain a garden and the same goes for my family and my job. I make a lot of mistakes, but I stay focused on the positive aspects and know what really matters most to me. Getting to be there and watch my son play with his buddies, be a little firefighter, kiss his baby sister and literally memorize my every move… it’s incredible. He’s growing up so fast.

2017-06-28 11.02.56
Bike to Work Day! 6/28/17 – I brought my firefighter along for the free breakfast and to give mom a couple extra hours in the morning. Lauren picked him up at my office!
2017-06-30 13.45.48
NO fun working at Weehoo – delivering packages to the post office when we miss the mail man!
2017-06-21 11.26.48
My boss at the summit of Mount Evans 14,265 – we took our new Australian customer to the highest paved road in North America and he loved it!
2017-05-27 09.01.49
My ’84 Suby has been getting in some miles too! I love this little car… best $200 ever! 

That crash I mentioned, yeah it was ugly. Night riding on mountain bikes with buddies in Phoenix over Christmas holiday. The trail was mellow and it was sort of a freak accident. Next thing I new I was on the ground and blood was pouring from my face and knee. I think most of the initial impact was on my right knee, then I tumbled down a granite slab, landing directly on my face. Broke my nose in 3 places. Pedaled out about 5 miles to the truck and was driven to the Hospital. Long story short, ended up with 10 stitches in my nose and some more in my knee. The recovery was tedious and I was completely off the bike for 2 months. It took quite awhile to get comfortable on the bike again, I was pretty traumatized by the incident. All good now, just some gnarly scars on my knee and nose.

cx vegas

This was definitely my personal highlight of last CX season – Winning the Wheelers and Dealers race at Cross Vegas. Having the support of the entire Weehoo company, industry friends from all over the world and putting together a solid ride! It’s crazy to think that we’re only 2.5 months away from racing in the Vegas heat again!

Thanks for reading and stay tuned for Alchemy, Weehoo and gardening updates to come…

Cheers,

Tim

Leave a Reply

